Completed insert set – 2011 Allen & Ginter Ascent of Man

22 10 2013

I don’t go about finishing off Allen & Ginter insert sets all that fast.  At least, not quite at the pace I get Gypsy Queen or Heritage sets finished.  This is my 3rd full-size insert set finished from 2011 Ginter – and 6th overall since I first did Gint-a-Cuffs 2 years ago.  This is another of those kind that keeps Ginter weird – Ascent of Man.

Info about the set:

Set description: From the sell sheet: “A step-by-step illustration of the evolution of life on earth.  Cards can be placed side by side to form a timeline.”

This is true – and this set kind of sticks out when you pull one from a pack since the set is borderless and very colorful, compared to the muted tone from most Ginter cards.

Set composition: 26 cards, 1:6 odds (2011 Allen & Ginter’s)

Hall of Famers: None as it’s not a sports set.

How I put the set together:

  • 8 cards from 2 hobby boxes
  • 12 cards from trades
  • 4 cards from eBay
  • 2 cards from Sportlots

Thoughts on the set:  Some of the Ginter sets I’m fairly “so-so” on, but this is kind of cool.  The idea for Ginter is to get some different things in there, and a semi-educational card set isn’t a bad idea.  Not that I’m going to go into a bunch of detail reading the cards to my kid or anything, but it’s a neat assortment of images.

The one thing I’d change – the images go in a line, so to best see the effect you’d put out all 26 cards in a row from left to right.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t have a great place to lay out 26 cards from left to right.  That would lead to a dog eating one or a baby trampling on all of them.  Aligning the backgrounds to look correct in 9-card sheets would be better in my humble opinion!

Card that completed my set: AOM11 – Amphibians (Acanthostega).

I got this card from a Sportlots purchase in September.

Highest book value: They all book for the same

Best card (my opinion): #AOM16 – Hominoidea

This monkey seems the most colorful of the primates in this set – so I like it the best!

2011 Allen & Ginter Ascent of Man

2011 Allen & Ginter Ascent of Man_0001

2011 Allen & Ginter Ascent of Man_0002

Actions

Information

One response

23 10 2013
Jeff

So THAT’S what this set looks like completed! Now, more than ever, I need to finish this set. Heading over to add the missing cards to my wants page.

Leave a Reply

