Completed insert set – 2012 Topps Heritage New Age Performers

8 10 2013

This is my 4th insert set completed from 2012 Topps Heritage. I’ve knocked off both Flashbacks sets, Then & Now, and now New Age Performers.  I’ve still got 1 card to finish off the JFK insert set and then about 8 cards to finish the stick-on set – then my 2012 Heritage “Master set” will be complete!  Getting pretty close!

Info about the set:

Set description:  “15 stars of today who are setting the new standard″.  The front shows a current Major League star with a red lighting effect in the background.  The back features similar to that of the 1963 Topps set as far as color scheme and font.  There is a write-up to the right that compares the “New Age” player to someone who was a star 50 years ago (i.e., Jeter is compared to Nellie Fox), with a few selected stats to the left underneath a caricature of the player.

Set composition:  15 cards, 1:15 odds (2012 Topps Heritage)

Hall of Famers:  None – as they’re all active players.

How I put the set together:

  • 3 cards from my 2 hobby boxes
  • 1 card from a retail blister pack
  • 8 cards from trades
  • 3 cards from Check Out My Cards

Thoughts on the set:  Love the design – the way the red background is done, it really seems to highlight the player as if they’re the star of the show.  At the same time, it has a groovy effect that seems appropriate for a set meant to throw back to the 1960’s.

I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention it – but for a number of these players, Topps used the same photo as they did for the 2012 flagship Topps set.  I didn’t check every card, but I can tell it’s true for Pujols, Jeter, Braun and Chipper.

Card that completed my set: #NAP-CL – Cliff Lee

I got the last card as part of my recent COMC purchase.

Highest book value: #NAP-DJ – Derek Jeter

Best card (my opinion): #NAP-RH – Roy Halladay

Halladay’s wind-up goes really well with the design – it seems like many of these cards could be stills for a commercial for the All-Star game or something.  He’s compared to Warren Spahn on the back, too – an all-time great hurler who doesn’t get enough mention!

Best Reds card (my opinion): #NAP-JV – Joey Votto

The only Reds card, but it sure is a nice one!  Votto’s write-up on the back is interesting, too.  It compares him to Frank Robinson, who was a full-fledged star for the Reds just like Votto.  It highlights how the Reds had some young stars back then (Vada Pinson and “the future all-time hits leader”) while the Reds have young stars like Jay Bruce to surround Votto.

2012 Heritage New Age Performers

2012 Heritage New Age Performers_0001

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

