Completed insert set – 2013 Topps Chasing the Dream

25 09 2013

The first 2013 insert set I completed from the 2013 flagship Topps set was the series 1 set called Chasing the Dream.  Topps didn’t carry this set over to series 2, so that’s part of why it is the first one I’ve finished off.  I bought a bunch of cards at a card show back in March, but was missing the Bryce Harper until a trade with a blog reader back in July.

Info about the set:

Set description: “25 cards featuring young players chasing their dream of becoming MLB superstars.”

Set composition: 25 cards, 1:6 hobby odds (2013 Topps Series 1)

Hall of Famers: None – only current players.

How I put the set together:

  • 9 cards from the HTA jumbo series 1 box
  • 1 card from a retail jumbo pack
  • 3 cards in trades
  • 12 cards from a card show

Thoughts on the set: The first completed set from 2013 is one of my least favorite.  I don’t dislike this set by any means – I think putting a set of young up-and-comers in series 1 is a good idea (and one Topps usually employs).  And I’m fine with the whole Chase theme – I just don’t love the design here.  I don’t like the grid on the side and the bottom.  Topps removed the background, which isn’t necessarily that bad – but the background they replaced it with just isn’t all that interesting.

The one other thing I don’t like – they have relic and autograph versions of these cards, and there are nearly 40 relics, but only 25 cards in the base set.  For example, Buster Posey has a relic but no base card.  I’d figure if you make a relic or autograph card, why not include that guy in the regular insert set?

Card that completed my set: #CD-1 – Bryce Harper

I got the last card in a trade back in July with reader Mark.

Highest book value: #CD-2 – Mike Trout

Trout has passed Harper up for the more valuable cards of the 2 these days.

Best card (my opinion): #CD-18 – Chris Sale

This is a good photo of Sale in his fairly noticeable wind-up.  There’s a lot of discussion around Chicago that his frame can’t handle his pitching velocity and style over the long haul.  We’ll have to wait and see.  The guy has been one of the best pitchers in baseball this year – unfortunately his record doesn’t show it.

2013 Topps Chasing the Dream

2013 Topps Chasing the Dream_0001

2013 Topps Chasing the Dream_0002

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

