Completed insert set – 1998 Topps Rookie Class

24 09 2013

I completed another insert set earlier this year but couldn’t post the completion (under my strange and unwritten “rules of the blog”) until I actually completed my 1998 Topps background posts.  Yesterday was Clemente, today is Rookie Class.

Info about the set:

Set description: Replacing the Clemente tribute cards from series 1 is a 10-card set of the top rookies coming into the league in 1998.  The cards feature an action photo in the foreground with a tinted background.  There is also a second photo of the player in the background, and the words rookie class going up the side.  The back has another player photo along with 1997 stats and a write-up.

Set composition: 10 cards, 1:12 odds (1998 Topps series 2)

Hall of Famers: None yet.  Todd Helton and Paul Konerko – maybe someday.

How I put the set together:

  • 4 cards from my series 2 hobby box
  • 1 card from a card show
  • 4 cards from Sportlots
  • 1 card from Beckett’s marketplace

Thoughts on the set:  This set is OK.  Not the greatest rookie class – Helton has been a pretty good player who just passed 2500 hits.  Konerko has had an excellent career.  For what it’s worth, I think Helton should be a Hall of Famer, but Konerko is very close but I lean toward no.  Derrek Lee is also in the set.  Overall, not a bad set, and one that was probably more interesting to collect at the time when these guys were young than 16 years later.

Card that completed my set: #R10 – Ben Grieve

I got this card from Beckett’s website in May.  Grieve was the 1998 AL Rookie of the Year, but had only one season after 1998 that compared to his rookie campaign.

Highest book value: #R3 – Todd Helton

Best card (my opinion): #R5 – Mark Kotsay

I like the picture of Kotsay following through on his swing, and the teal Marlins uniform seems to go well with the card design.

My Favorite Reds card:  There are none.

1998 Topps Rookie Class

1998 Topps Rookie Class_0001

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

