Post #900! Brains over Braun and 2013 Archives Fan Favorites – cards #201-245

22 07 2013

This is my 900th post on this blog.  I’m not going to do anything super fancy.  In fact, I’m just going to do my next post on Archives.

Actually, given recent events, I will do one thing:

Braun Fraud

Braun pisses me off more than anyone else in the whole steroids thing.  I’m generally on the less offended side of steroids, but there are two things that irk me:

  1. Players who are cheating in the 2010’s.  Manny Ramirez falls into this category.  It’s well past 2006.  2006 was when baseball officially stepped up to 50-game suspensions.  However, it’s only in recent years when I feel that the public conscience combined with those suspensions have really made taking PEDs “socially unacceptable” for a professional player.  I’m a firm believer that baseball and PEDs was a part of the culture, and because of that I have a hard time judging someone like Barry Bonds and even Mark McGwire so harshly.  I think a lot of society has grown a moral compass after the fact with these guys, where I think the system was more the issue than any individual player.
  2. Players who are completely indignant.  Rafael Palmeiro jumps out first when I think of this category.  Roger Clemens is a close second, and he probably should be first with all the litigation he’s drawn out.  If you cheated and you got caught, take your lumps and the world will forgive you someday.  For the most part, guys like Barry Bonds and Jason Giambi have just avoided directly addressing the issue.  Would I prefer them to come clean?  Yes, but they haven’t looked like the complete asses that Palmeiro, Clemens and now Braun have.

Braun is the first player I can think of who falls into both categories, and for someone who doesn’t care as much about the PED controversies as others, that makes him a bit of a lightning rod for me.  He attacked the tester in his previous case, not the result.  And he was rewarded, which isn’t how it should be.  I’m glad that has been rectified.

Anyways, back to baseball cards.  When I get to 1,000 posts, I will certainly do something a bit more dramatic.  That said, on to the Archives Fan Favorites, which is plenty dramatic enough in my humble opinion!

**********

The last section of “base cards” in Topps Archives is quite different from the first 200 cards.  The previous sections of the set are broken up into 4 groupings of 50 cards each, with each grouping a re-make of an old Topps design.  The last 45 cards in the set are short printed.  These short prints are known as “Fan Favorites”.  The cards feature designs that the player was previously featured on.  The actual years displayed run the gamut from 1968 to 1993, with most of the cards being after 1974.  I think this and the Fan Favorite Autographs (I’ll show a few of those in the next post), is the coolest part of this product.  These cards feature a checklist of guys you don’t always see in Topps sets.  I don’t need to see Ruth, Aaron, or Cobb in every product.  Cards of Hal Morris or Leon “Bull” Durham is different and appreciated from this collector!

At some point, I’ll complete this set and repost this with every card shown.  For now, I’m going to show the cards I do have, right next to the player’s card from the year depicted.  I’m not going to do a ton of write-up on these – but here’s the pictures of the cards I have, in chronological order.

In all cases, the original card is on the right, the Archives card is on the left.  Enjoy!

1975 Topps – Fred Lynn

This Fred Lynn card is pretty cool.  It’s in the “cards that never were” category –  Lynn had his rookie card in 1975, but it was part of a quadruple rookie prospects card.  This gives him a card with the 1975 design all by his lonesome!

2013 Archives FF 75 Fred Lynn

Lynn also had a card in the “Turn Back the Clock” subset from 1990 Topps that took his picture from the original and made it as if it was a single card.

1990-3763-F

1976 Topps – Dave Lopes

Dave not “Davey”, apparently.  Lopes is card #660 in the 1976 set – the last card of the set.

Screen shot 2013-07-20 at 8.47.27 PM

1978 Topps – Larry Bowa

In most situations, I like the Archives photo better than the original.  This card is not one of those situations, however.

Screen shot 2013-07-20 at 8.39.47 PM

1982 Topps – Dwight Evans, Frank White

These are two cards where I think the Archives card is an improvement.  Also, it’s interesting that Topps used the exact same signature for these (they did not do that last year).

Screen shot 2013-07-20 at 8.56.36 PM

Screen shot 2013-07-20 at 8.43.00 PM

1984 Topps – Mookie Wilson

Screen shot 2013-07-20 at 8.58.27 PM

1985 Topps – Tom Brunansky

Screen shot 2013-07-20 at 9.01.16 PM

1987 Topps – Eric Davis

This is easily my favorite card in the whole Archives set!

Screen shot 2013-07-20 at 9.04.58 PM

1988 Topps – Mike Greenwell

Very cool that Topps included the rookie cup logo here.  Interesting that they used a very similar photo.  Also interesting how different the font is for the team name at the top.

Screen shot 2013-07-20 at 9.06.49 PM

1989 Topps – Howard Johnson

2013 Archives FF 89 Hojo

1990 Topps – Gregg Jefferies, Ellis Burks

The 1990 set is kind of growing on me.  I really like the blue border cards, so I think this is another card where the Archives version is an upgrade over the original Topps card.

2013 Archives FF 90 E Burks 2013 Archives FF 90 Jefferies

1991 Topps – Delino DeShields

2013 Archives FF 91 DeShields

1992 Topps – Bob Tewksbury

I’ve got 4 of these bad boys.  Around 1991/1992 was when Topps started really improving the photos included in their sets.  I’ve heard people refer to this as the “Stadium Club effect”.  Whatever the reason, it’s harder for Archives to improve on some already good pictures than it was for some of the earlier years.  The Gant and Pendleton definitely look pretty similar – but both are nice cards!

2013 Archives FF 92 Tewksbury

Actions

Information

6 responses

22 07 2013
shanediaz82

Amen on Braun. I used to be much harsher on guys like Bonds and McGwire but have kind of lessened that harsh stance over time. There’s no excuse for this stuff though, just a total dummy. Great post by the way, nice to see there’s someone else out there who doesn’t detest 1990 Topps!

22 07 2013
nighttimeowl

Love the comparisons! Nothing could top that original ’76 Dave Lopes card.

Great 900th post. Too bad Braun had to ruin it. But my sentiments on the whole thing are the exact same as yours.

22 07 2013
30-Year Old Cardboard

Congrats on #900.

Congrats on a fantastic post with the side-by-side of the Fan Favorites.

And Congrats on feeling about Braun the way that we all should – sadly, he got what was coming to him…

23 07 2013
http://bbcardblog.blogspot.de/

Congrats on the #900 Mark !

23 07 2013
MIlwaukee Southpaw

All I can say about Braun is that this sucks SO much for Brewers fans like myself, because I do NOT want to support those who cheat. However, Braun is most likely going to be here for many years to come and my team can’t do well without him playing well. So what the heck do I do as a fan of the Brewers?….just sucks….

23 07 2013
chuckneo

Yeah, it does stink for Brewer fans. It seemed so clear to me that he was lying in the previous issue, but I know if it was my team’s player – I’d probably want to give the benefit of the doubt.

Regardless, he’s a shade ball. He lied the whole time about it, attacked people who doubted him and now his apology was beyond laugable.

Leave a Reply

