Completed insert set – 2012 Allen & Ginter World’s Tallest Buildings

28 06 2013

I finished off a regular size insert set from last year’s Ginter product.  I don’t focus too much on getting these, but I thought I had this finished, realized I still needed one card, and got that card from COMC.

Info about the set:

Set description: “10 cards celebrating the most impressive edifices in the world.”

I’m not sure where they were going with the today comment – the Sovereign of the Seas was from the 17th century, and the most recent ship in this set is from the early 1900’s.

Set composition: 10 cards, 1:10 odds (2012 Allen & Ginter’s)

Hall of Famers: None as it’s not a sports set.

How I put the set together:

  • 3 cards from my hobby box
  • 1 card from a case break
  • 5 cards from trades
  • 1 card from COMC

Thoughts on the set:  The set doesn’t feature the tallest buildings in the world today – but 10 buildings that have, at one point, been the tallest in the world (except for card #10).  I didn’t know that until I finished the set and looked into it a little bit.  This set fits into what Topps does with A&G.

Card that completed my set: WTB9 – Woolworth Building.

I got this card from a recent COMC purchase.  I thought I’d completed the set earlier but realized that I had 2 card number 7’s in my set!  D’oh!

Highest book value: They all book for the same

Best card (my opinion): #WTB1 – Burj Khalifa

Got to go with the tallest one, right?  Especially when it dwarfs the next tallest building in the world!

2012 Ginter Tall Buildings_0001

2012 Ginter Tall Buildings

Like most Ginter sets – this is another one of those different kinds of sets.  Here’s a list of the buildings. I can’t believe how much bigger the tallest one is!

  • WTB1 – Burj Khalifa, 2,722 feet.  2010.
  • WTB2 – Taipei 101. 1,670 feet.  2004.
  • WTB3 – Petronas Towers.  1,483 feet.  1998.
  • WTB4 – Willis Tower.  1,450 feet.  1973.
  • WTB5 – 1 World Trade Center.  1,360 feet.  2013.
  • WTB6 – Empire State Building.  1,250 feet.  1931.
  • WTB7 – Chrysler Building.  1,047 feet.  1930.
  • WTB8 – 40 Wall Street (Bank of Manhattan Building).  927 feet.  1930.
  • WTB9 – Woolworth Building.  792 feet.  1913.
  • WTB10 – Metlife Building.  808 feet.  1963.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

