Completed insert set – 1996 Classic Confrontations

26 05 2013

I completed an insert earlier this year from 1996 Topps – Classic Confrontations.  This one was completely from “other” means – as in none of the cards came from packs.  That’s because these were only available back in 1996 through special retail packs in Wal-Mart, and I certainly wasn’t opening any packs that specialized in my quest.  Plus, I like Target better anyways!

Info about the set:

Set description: Inside white borders, the fronts show player cutouts on a brownish rock background featuring a shadow image of the player. The player’s name is in gold foil across the bottom. The backs of the hitters’ cards are aqua and present headshots and statistics.  The statistics presented are what get into the “confrontation” theme of this set – the cards show how the player did against the best pitchers / hitters in the game.  The first 10 cards are hitters, the next 5 are pitchers.

Set composition: 15 cards, 1:5 odds (1996 Topps Wal-Mart series 1 retail packs only)

Hall of Famers: 7. Ripken, Gwynn, Puckett, Thomas, Maddux, Glavine, Johnson

How I put the set together:

  • 1 card from a trade
  • 14 cards from Sportlots

Thoughts on the set:  These are so-so.  I don’t like specialized retail-only inserts. The design on the front isn’t anything spectacular, though I do appreciate the backs.  It’s pretty neat to see how someone did against the best in the game.  For example, Ken Griffey Jr. is pretty bad against all the aces they put on the back of his card, except for Roger Clemens.

Card that completed my set: #CC3 – Edgar Martinez

I had this down to 1 card for quite a while, and I got the card for Edgar in February this year from Sportlots.

Highest book value: #CC2 – Cal Ripken, #CC6 – Barry Bonds

This isn’t the most valuable set – just $1.25 per Beckett for these two guys.

Best card (my opinion): #CC11 – Randy Johnson

When in doubt I usually default to Griffey, but I like the shot of the Big Unit following through on a pitch.

My Favorite Reds card:  #CC7 – Reggie Sanders

The only one in the set.

1996 Topps Classic Confrontations

1996 Topps Classic Confrontations_0001

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 05 2013
carpet1018

There are 3 HOF ers in this set you forgot Kirby Pucket HOF class of 2001

26 05 2013
chuckneo

Good catch – somehow I glossed right over Kirby!

Leave a Reply

