2013 Heritage vs. Vintage #17 – The finale

26 04 2013

“Vintage” as in 1964 Topps, got really close in the last post, getting back to within one point in my comparisons.  This is the last post I’m going to do for Heritage comparisons, and there are three cards I have in mind to finish up. There’s one great player that comes to mind from the 60’s who I haven’t featured yet, and then there’s my two favorite cards from the current year’s Heritage set that I also want to show off.

Card #440 – Roberto Clemente / Bryce Harper

2013 Heritage ASR Harper OF1964-22912-FTopps decided to match Harper up with Roberto Clemente this year.  I already featured Harper as part of my All-Star rookie post, but I did want to include Clemente and this is the right number.   This card has an error variation as well – Pittsburgh is misspelled on the back of Clemente’s card, and Topps decided to do a version of Harper’s card misspelled.  Seems silly.

I already featured Harper’s trivia question, as I already featured his card.

Trivia question: Who pitched two shutouts in one double-header?

Trivia answer: Ed Reulbach in 1908.  (That’s insane!)

Winner:

Pretty easy.  Clemente is awesome, and Harper, though he’s growing on me a bit, is not.  Plus, it’s stupid Topps did this comparison this year.

Tied, 30-30

***********

Card #438 – Andrew McCutchen / Checklist 6

2013 Heritage Andrew McCutchen1964-22769-FNow this is who Topps should have matched Clemente up with!  Pittsburgh Pirate, Outfielder, and MVP candidate from last year, just like Roberto himself.

And the photo they chose is pretty comparable.  This is my favorite card from Heritage this year – it’s a great photo of McCutchen, even if it is staged.  This is the type of photo that goes with this design – much better than those close-up head shots.

Winner:

And of course, McCutchen is going against a checklist.  Against Buster Posey?  He won’t take home the MVP hardware.  Against a checklist?  An easy win for Heritage, even though it is a checklist with Bob Clemente’s name on it.

2013 Heritage leads, 31-30

This means it comes down to the last card.  Heritage will at least get a tie – but can Vintage come back to get that tie?

***********

Card #89 – Jose Bautista / Boog Powell

2013 Heritage Bautista 891964 Topps Boog PowellI picked this because it’s probably my second favorite card of the set.  I’m actually collecting any of the Bautista parallels – I like this almost as much as the McCutchen.  Again, this is the right kind of shot for this design.  Waist up, and I love the bat pose with the clouds in the background.

Unlike the last one, this is a good matchup. The Blue Jays didn’t exist in 1964, so Topps can’t match Bautista up with the same team.  But they can match him up with another slugging outfielder!

Trivia question: Who holds the NL mark for strikeouts in a 9-inning game?

Trivia answer: Sandy Koufax had 18 on 2 different occasions.  This NL mark was eventually broken by Steve Carlton with 19 in 1969, and then Tom Seaver matched Carlton a year later.  David Cone would match them in 1991, before Kerry Wood broke that record and matched Roger Clemens’ major league record in 1998.

Winner:

This is a tough one. The Bautista is one of my favorites, but the Powell card is pretty awesome.  The old school Orioles logo on his sleeve is cool, it also meets the criteria of the right kind of photo for this design.  And he’s got the “suns out guns out” thing going on.  But I’m staying with the Bautista – he’s got a good-looking bird logo poking its head out, too!

2013 Heritage WINS, 32-30

Well, that’s it for my Heritage comparison with the original for 2013.  Unlike the last two years, Heritage came out on top.  I think some of that is because this isn’t my favorite design of all time.  I really liked the past 2 years, and I’m excited about next year’s 1965 design with the pennant.  I do think Topps did pretty well with this product, so maybe that’s why I ended up giving Heritage the victory here!  I’m going to do a few more posts about some of the other stuff in the product, and then it’s back to the Lifetime Topps project!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

