Completed insert set – 2012 Gypsy Queen Glove Stories

4 11 2012

The next “standard” baseball insert set I’ve completed from 2012 Gypsy Queen is the “defense-oriented” set.  Like Wall Climbers from last year, now there’s a set called Glove Stories.

Info about the set:

Set description:  “Images and stories of spectacular fielding plays”.  This set features 10 current and retired fielders with oil painting photos showing off an incredible defensive play.  The cards have a brown border with the “Glove Stories” phrase across an arched top.  The player’s name and team are in a box in the bottom of the picture, and the 2012 “Gypsy Queen” logo is at the bottom part of the border.

Set composition: 10 cards, 1:6 odds (2012 Gypsy Queen)

Hall of Famers:  Just 1 for now – Willie Mays.   Jeter and Griffey are future locks, however.

How I put the set together:

  • 6 cards from my 2 hobby boxes
  • 4 cards from trades

Thoughts on the set:

Like the Moonshots set – I like whenever insert sets have a specific, legitimate theme better than just anything that Topps can throw good players in the set.  I like the fact that this focuses on defensive plays – that’s different.  I wish they’d have gotten Brooks Robinson and Roberto Clemente into the set – Hall of Famers with notable defensive plays who are in the base set.  Ozzie Smith, too.  I’d also have included the play Mark Buehrle made on Opening Day last year.

Card that completed my set: #GS-BR – Ben Revere

I got this card in a trade with Anthony from Baseball Card Locker.

Highest book value:  #GS-DJ – Derek Jeter

Jeter’s card is valued a little more than Mays or Griffey…

Best card (my opinion): #GS-WM – Willie Mays

But I’d take the most notable defensive play in history.

My Favorite Reds card:  There are none.

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 11 2012
MIlwaukee Southpaw

I absolutely LOVE this set. Unfortunately I pretty much missed out on Gypsy Queen, but I intend to try and pick these up via eBay at some point

15 10 2015
Completed insert set – 2013 Topps Chase it Down | Lifetime Topps project

[…] has done quite a few insert sets that focus on defensive plays, but this one focuses on guys diving to make a play.  I really like the specificity there. […]

Leave a Reply

