Completed insert set – 2012 Topps Timeless Talents

25 10 2012

I’m done buying retro stuff for 2012, and I’ve posted all I’m going to about Topps Mini and Topps Update.  That means I’ll be back to posting about my Lifetime Topps project soon.  But first, I have some sets I’ve completed over the last few months.

My first insert set completed from the 2012 Topps flagship product is Timeless Talents, which was only included in 2012 series 1.

Info about the set:

Set description: The idea for this is a theme that Topps has had for the past 3 years (at least).  They put 2 players on one card, usually a retired star with a current player.  I like the design of this one better than the previous 2 years.  The card is horizontally oriented, with each player taking up one half of the card.  The background is darkened, so it makes the players stand out.  A white line divides the players down the middle, and separates the top and bottom of the card.  Each player name is below his picture, with the team name above.  The Topps logo along with the Timeless Talents set name is near the bottom.  The back has a stat comparison between the two players and a write-up of why they should be compared in the first place.

Set composition: 25 cards, 1:6 hobby odds (2012 Topps series 1)

Hall of Famers: 17

Paul Molitor, Willie Mays, Nolan Ryan (2 cards), Frank Robinson, Ryne Sandberg, Johnny Bench, Barry Larkin, Bob Gibson, Andre Dawson, Joe Morgan, Stan Musial, Ernie Banks, Dennis Eckersley, Luis Aparicio, Cal Ripken, Frank Thomas, John Smoltz.

How I put the set together:

  • 10 cards from the HTA jumbo box
  • 1 card from a blaster
  • 1 card from a retail jumbo pack
  • 13 cards from trades

Thoughts on the set:  As I alluded to above, this idea isn’t anything new.  Topps did something similar in 2010 (Legendary Lineage) and 2011 (Diamond Duos).  Those two sets looked way too similar – at least this one is a different design, and I think the change is an improvement.  There are some good combinations (Joe Morgan and Brandon Phillips) in the set, but there are also some head-scratcher pairings (Willie Mays with Matt Kemp?).  I’m kind of lukewarm on the set, and would probably like it more if it hadn’t been done the two years before.

Card that completed my set: #TT-21 – Dennis Eckersley / Andrew Bailey

I got this card in a trade with Clark from Fantastic Catch in July.

Highest book value: #TT-25 – Cal Ripken / Derek Jeter

Best card (my opinion): #TT-14 – Nolan Ryan / Jered Weaver

Like I said, I’m kind of lukewarm on this set, so picking a best card was tough.  I like this photo of Ryan with the Angels – and putting him with an Angel who has a strikeout crown himself was a good match.

My Favorite Reds card: #TT-17 – Joe Morgan / Brandon Phillips

Easily beats out cards that feature Barry Larkin and Johnny Bench, but not current Reds.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

