Saturdays Suds: Baseball & Beer #14 – Anchor Steam

20 10 2012

I’ve been wanting to do a “Saturday Suds” that somehow roped in one of the playoff teams, but I also wanted to do one that I could find locally and try for the post (as opposed to just doing some research on it).  Well, since I waited until this week, my playoff teams were reduced to just 4 – New York, San Francisco, St. Louis and Detroit.  I’m not sure about any Detroit beers I could rope in to be somehow related to the Tigers, and the Yankees were just eliminated at the time I wrote this (Thursday early evening).  By the time this post goes “live” the Cardinals could have eliminated the Giants.  I hope that doesn’t happen.  Partly because I hate the Cardinals, but also partly because it makes doing a beer with some association to San Francisco more relevant.  (Update – way to go Zito, the Giants live for another day!)

So I’m doing a San Francisco beer.  I have never been to San Francisco.  But Anchor Steam is from there, and it’s one of the more notable “microbrews” out there.

Brewery: Anchor Brewing Company in San Francisco, CA

Beer:  Anchor Steam

Description:  This beer is kind of different from anything I’ve had – it’s in between an ale and a lager.  It’s got an amber color, though not as dark as most amber beers I’ve had.  It’s got a bit of a caramel taste to it.  It’s not as bitter as some ales, and not as light as most lagers.  I like it – and will definitely have to try some of their other beers.

Here’s what the website has to describe it:

“Anchor Steam Beer derives its unusual name from the 19th century when “steam” was a nickname for beer brewed on the West Coast of America under primitive conditions and without ice. While the origin of the name remains shrouded in mystery, it likely relates to the original practice of fermenting the beer on San Francisco’s rooftops in a cool climate. In lieu of ice, the foggy night air naturally cooled the fermenting beer, creating steam off the warm open pans. Once a nickname for any West Coast beer brewed under these conditions, today the name “steam” is a trademark of Anchor Brewing and applies only to the singular process and taste of our flagship brand – San Francisco’s original Anchor Steam Beer. The classic of American brewing tradition since 1896.”

Medium:  I bought a 6-pack of 12 ounce bottles.  You can find this on draft at times, probably in a number of places in San Francisco.  The bottles are kind of different shape – they are shorter with a thicker “neck”.

How it’s related to baseball:  Anchor Beer is a sponsor of the San Francisco Giants.  A pretty new development started this year – they opened a tap-room or biergarten behind Center Field on the promenade level of AT&T park.  There you can get a few different Anchor beers on tap – including this beer, the brewery’s “Anchor” product (pun intended).  It’s a replica of their tap-room in Portero Hill, the neighborhood where the Brewery is located.

Like I said above – I’ve never been to SF, but I will go to AT&T Park someday, and I’ll definitely hit up this plaza when I do!

UPDATE: In 2015, they came up with another collaboration.  You can buy boxes of the Anchor Steam flagship beer.

Anchor Steam Giants box

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 10 2012
Adam

This is a great beer! I have had a couple on my trips to AT&T Park but my fondest Anchor Steam memory was my first trip to Arizona for Spring Training where they had vendors serving bottles of ice cold Anchor Steam in the stands, so good!

20 10 2012
chuckneo

It is a good beer. We had people over last night and they were excited I had it in the fridge…

Leave a Reply

