Saturdays Suds: Baseball & Beer #13 – Goose Island Cubby Blue

13 10 2012

For my next “Saturday Suds”, I really wanted to go with one related to a playoff team.  There are a few I have in mind.  But I haven’t been able to get a sip of any of those beers, but I did recently try a beer that’s relevant for this topic from a not-so-much-playoff team.

As I’ve mentioned on the blog a few times, I just moved to Chicago, and am about 3 blocks from Wrigley Field.  My sister was in town, and me, her and my wife went out for dinner while my mother-in-law watched the baby.  We went walking around the bars / pubs in Wrigleyville, and after getting ignored at one place that will remain nameless, we headed to the Goose Island Brewpub for dinner.  I’m usually not in the biggest favor of a place like this – I’d rather go for the locally owned place than the one that pays royalties to Anheuser-Busch.  But they had some good food, and more importantly, I did notice an aptly named beer and was excited that I could do a post on the Goose Island Cubby Blue.

Brewery: Goose Island Beer Co. in Chicago, IL

The brewery has been 100% owned by Anheuser-Busch InBev since 2011.

Beer:  Cubby Blue

Description:  The Goose Island website (and the Wrigleyville Brewpub menu) say it well:

“Raspberry color, blueberry aroma and flavor, light body”.

You can smell the blueberry to this beer before you sip it.  It’s a fairly light ale that isn’t bitter at all.  It’s a little on the sweet side, but not too much, as it does have a bit of hop to it that offsets that blueberry flavor.  It’s a refreshing beer – I’ll have to try it next year on a warm summer game day instead of a fall Saturday night.

Medium: This beer is only available on tap at the Goose Island Wrigleyville Brewpub, which is how I drank it.  You can’t buy it in stores, and it’s not even at Goose Island’s other brewpub in Clybourn.  It’s not mentioned as a beer they brew on their website – though it shows up on the menu at the link above.

How it’s related to baseball:  It’s a Wrigleyville specific beer named after the Cubs.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 10 2014
Saturdays Suds: Pubs near the Park #7 – Goose Island Brewpub (now closed) | Lifetime Topps project

[…] Wrigley location had a couple of beers with cub-specific themes.  I’ve posted about the Cubby Blueberry in the past, which is pretty good.  There was also a wheat beer called Wrigleyville White, which […]

7 01 2017
Saturdays Suds: Baseball & Beer #75 – Goose Island #FlyTheW | Lifetime Topps project

[…] For my next “Saturday Suds”, I went with another Cubs celebration beer.  And another Goose Island beer. […]

Leave a Reply

