Gint-A-Cuffs IV wrap-up: 2012 Allen & Ginter Packs 21-24

1 08 2012

I’m at the end of the road with this box.  I’m at 149 points and am all out of hits; so I don’t have chance to win the glory.  But keeping score is fun even when the home team loses, so here we go with the last 4 packs!

Pack 21

#74 – Jordan Zimmerman.

#113 – Meadowlark Lemon (+1 point for being a Harlem Globetrotter).

#41 – Clayton Kershaw.

#12 – Bryce Harper.  Again, I’m surprised he didn’t get any negative vibes from the commish.  I’d have thrown a negatron his way.

#125 – Ben Revere.

#65 – Alex Rios.

#344 mini – Matt Dominguez. (+3 for SP mini).

#WIN95 – Ken Griffey Jr. (+2 for What’s in a Name, +4 for my favorite player).  Well, I don’t think I’m gonna win, but this sure was a good pull for this pack!

Pack total: 10 points

Running total: 159 points

Pack 22

#119 – Azdrubal Cabrera.

#294 – Elvis Andrus.

#245 – Hank Haney.

#173 – Jay Bruce (+1 for Reds FT).  I really didn’t get that many Redlegs in this box.  Oh well.  At least I got our questionable All-Star.

#67 – Desmond Jennings.

#178 – Wei Yin-Chen.

#87 mini – Annie Duke.

#WIN5 – Troy Tulowitzki (+2 for What’s in a Name).  Tu-lo-witz-ki.

Pack total: 3 points

Running total: 162 points.

Pack 23

#130 – Madison Bumgarner.

#300 – Roberto Clemente.

#156 – Trevor Cahill.

#128 – Andrew McCutchen.

#188 – Tom Milone.

#WTB5 – 1 World Trade Center (+3 for World’s Tallest Building).  Cool – the soon to be constructed site at Ground Zero.

#64 mini – Matt Latos (+1 for Reds FT mini).

#320 – Jonathan Papelbon (+2 for SP).

Pack total: 6 points.

Running total: 168 points.

This pack had a former Pirate MVP and a potential future Pirate MVP.

Pack 24

#260 – Alex Liddi.

#181 – Joe DiMaggio (-1 for his Yankee-ness).  For some reason, pulling this card put a thought in my head.  They really should get Marylin Monroe into Ginter.  Then Gint-A-Cuffs could do some kind of crazy thing where we get 10 points for pulling both of them in the same box, and 100 for the same pack…

#295 – Drew Pomeranz.

#48 – Jordan Walden.

#213 – Joe Nathan.

#81 – Jerry Bailey (+1 point for being a jockey).

#MM2 – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (+3 for Musical Masters).  For this insert set, this is like the Jesus of this People of the Bible insert set.  Him or Beethoven I guess.

#WIN54 – Juan D’Vaughn Pierre (+2 for What’s In a Name).

Pack total: 5 points.

Running total: 173 points.

So I had way fewer points than last year, and I definitely don’t think I’ll win (though I did these posts very early, so no way to tell).  But this was a lot of fun again this year.  I think fewer people played, but I hope Gint-A-Cuffs is back next year!  I’m going to do an overall re-cap of the box and the points I got later this week.  I hope to read everyone else’s posts as well.  Thanks for reading!

MVP of the post: Mr. Griffey pulls home another MVP award.  Those 2 MVPs of this Ginter project equal one more than the league MVP total he won in his career.  That means you get to see a picture of my dog again!  That’s a Bengals blanket, by the way.  He already chewed up the Reds one pretty well.  My wife and I call him Darth Dog when he pulls moves like this.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

