Completed insert set – 2011 Gypsy Queens

19 07 2012

Well, I’ve busted my Ginter box, but I’m doing Gint-A-Cuffs and the rules don’t come up until Sunday.  So for the time being, I’m going to cover a couple completed sets.  I wrapped up the “master set”, or at least what I’m considering the master set, for 2011 Gypsy Queen.  The full look at everything is tomorrow.  Today – is the last insert set I finished up.

The sixth and final insert set I completed from 2011 Gypsy Queen is the only “non-baseball” insert set.  It’s a play off the Gypsy Queen idea – called “Gypsy Queens”.  This can be a little confusing.  Like if you’re trying to search COMC for just Gypsy Queens the insert set – it’s hard to filter without getting every card from 2011 the 2011 product (not just the insert).

Info about the set:

Set description:  “A colorful caravan of 20 Gypsy Queens”.  Though it ended up only being 19 cards.  I have a theory on why Topps dropped it to 19.  It’s nothing earth-shattering, but involves Prince William, Kate Middleton and the gemstone parallels of these cards.  This set features a bunch of made up Gypsies with some interesting writing on the back, usually describing some crazy thing that particular Gypsy Queen does.  The borders feature some tan / orange-ish background.

I’ve read that these gypsies are based off of Topps employees.  There are also “tarot back”, autographed, and gemstone parallels of these cards.

Set composition: 19 cards, 1:24 (2011 Gypsy Queen)

Hall of Famers:  None – these aren’t even baseball players!

How I put the set together:

  • 2 cards from the 2 hobby boxes I bought
  • 1 card from a group break
  • 1 card from a trade
  • 4 cards from a card show
  • 7 cards from Sportlots
  • 4 cards from Check Out My Cards

Thoughts on the set:  I collected it because it wasn’t that difficult, but it certainly is kind of weird.  I like what they did this year (2012 – Gypsy Kings) better – at least they tied it to baseball.  It was mildly interesting to read the backs – Topps had a lot of times where they reference one of the other Gypsy Queens.  For instance, Hevalia (GQ18) is the sister of Sonia (GQ5).  I bet you didn’t know that!

Card that completed my set: #GQ8 – Dianamara

I got this card from a Sportlots purchase.

Highest book value:  All the same

Best card (my opinion): #GQ2 – Oriana

Because I’m a creep and she’s the hottest.  Plus, the back of her card says she’ll help heal you (as opposed to some of the others who may turn you into a bloodthirsty werewolf).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

