Completed insert set – 1993 Topps Black Gold

27 05 2012

I always viewed the ’93 Topps Black Gold set as their first ever insert.  It wasn’t exactly true – there were inserts like stamps as far back as the early 60’s, there were packaging-specific inserts like All-Star Glossy, Rookies, and Batting Leaders all throughout the 80’s, and in 1992 there was Topps Gold cards at 1 per box.  But, card collectors today think of inserts as cards that are distinct from the base set that you get at a certain rate per packs you’ve opened.  Topps Black Gold really was the first offering in Topps flagship that fit this bill.

Info about the set:

Set description:  Staying in line with the Gold theme that Topps adopted in the early 90’s in the flagship product for all 4 sports, the Black Gold cards had gold foilboard at the top and bottom.  The Topps Black Gold logo is in the top left of the card. The rest of the background is completely black, with the player outlined by a white line.  The back of the card has another photo of the player with a writeup against a blue background.  The set has 22 players from each league.

Set composition:  44 cards

Inserted: 1:72 odds (1993 Topps – 22 cards per each series, 11 from each league).

There were also redemption cards inserted at a more difficult rate that could be exchanged for 11, 22 or all 44 cards in the set.

Hall of Famers: 12

Andre Dawson, Tony Gwynn, Barry Larkin, Ryne Sandberg, Ozzie Smith, Roberto Alomar, Dennis Eckersley, Kirby Puckett, Dave Winfield, Tom Glavine, Greg Maddux, Frank Thomas

How I put the set together:

  • I already had the full set from back in 1993.

Thoughts on the set:  I like this insert set more now than I used to.  I always thought Topps was pretty inferior to Upper Deck for card technology and for inserts at this point in time (because, frankly – they were).  But these are pretty nice cards.  There isn’t really a theme to get in this set – Topps just put popular players in an even amount per league.  But overall, these are the first cards Topps did like this and I appreciate them more now than I did 20 years ago.

Card that completed my set:  N/A, since I already had it.  I’m pretty sure in 1993 we just bought the whole set anyways.

Highest book value:  1 – Barry Bonds

Best card (my opinion):  2 – Will Clark

“The Thrill” had a very unique swing, and you can see his follow through on this card.  It looks cool.

My Favorite Reds card:  14 – Joe Oliver

It would be easy to pick Larkin, but Joe Oliver getting an insert card is pretty cool if you ask me.

Actions

Information

6 responses

27 05 2012
The Lost Collector

I remember seeing one of these at a card shop back then and being completely in awe of it.

5 06 2012
Dan

If I remember correctly, there was a winner A, winner B, winner C, winner D, winner AB, winner CD, and winner ABCD cards…I’m not sure if you care about getting those or not….

5 06 2012
chuckneo

Yeah there are a bunch, I actually have a couple from back in the day. I just threw one in to make it an even 45 cards and 5 sheets!

1 08 2015
neil rubel

I just opened a box of 1993 topps and got the black gold redemption card lol 23 years later a/b redemption does anybody know if it is worth anything I would appreciate it neilrubel80@gmail.com

1 08 2015
chuckneo

Probably just a buck or 2 is my guess

19 02 2017
KSKris

I was one of the two winners of the complete box set. I still have it, unopened. Anybody have an idea on the value? Thanks for compiling the history of the set here.

Leave a Reply

