Completed insert set – 2012 Gypsy Queen Sliding Stars

25 05 2012

So this is a first for me. I am actually writing this post from my tablet while at the Newark Airport. I bought an Asus Transformer Prime a little while ago, and a got a hot spot from Verizon, so I’m really feeling new age today. The tablet has a pretty nice keyboard dock and is supposed to be the nicest Android competitor to an iPad. I’m no techie, and I’ve never had an iPad, so I can’t appropriately evaluate that, but I do like the tablet quite a bit. The keyboard is a little small and it’s tough to get used to when you bang on another keyboard all day at work, but I think I’ll get better at it. Everything but creating a new post and the card scans was done through the tablet!

Anyways, I have 2 boxes of Archives waiting back home for me, but didn’t have time to open before I head to a friend’s wedding. I’ll get to Archives early next week; for now, I’ll do a couple of completed set posts. The first one is from the newest product I’ve opened; 2012 Gypsy Queen Sliding Stars. This is a pretty sweet set idea – I always like when there’s a legit theme to cards as opposed to something like “Great Ones” that is just throwing good players into a set.

Info about the set:

Set description:  “Base Stealers in Action”.  15 current players who are known as good base runners are displayed in horizontal photos.  The border is kind of what I’ll call “dirt color” – which goes well with all the dirt they’re kicking up in most of these action shots.  The 2012 version of the Gypsy Queen logo is at the top of the card and the player name and words “Sliding Stars” are at the bottom.  The back references a specific steal the player made, but the picture on the front doesn’t necessarily match (which I wish it would).  In fact, I don’t think it ever matches.

Set composition: 15 cards, 1:3 odds (2012 Gypsy Queen)

Hall of Famers:  None – these are all current players.

How I put the set together:

  • 14 cards from my 2 hobby boxes
  • 1 card from a trade

Thoughts on the set:

Again, I like whenever they have insert sets with legitimate themes the best.  I particularly like it when they deviate from power hitters, too!  I wish the photo on the front always matched the steal in question, but that’s just me being picky.  The did pick some good moments to highlight.  The frame looks really nice, kind of like you’re seeing a still of a movie.

Card that completed my set: #IK – Ian Kinsler

Kinsler was the card I got in a trade from Ryan’s Pitch earlier this month.

Highest book value:  #DJ – Derek Jeter

Best card (my opinion): #JE – Jacoby Ellsbury

Ellsbury is shown sliding into home on his card, and I love the guys in the dugout in the background looking on.

My Favorite Reds card:  None in the set

Here’s a list of the cards, along with the stolen base the cards are referencing:

#AM – Andrew McCutchen has stolen 3 bases in a game twice – the first time in August of his rookie 2009 campaign.

#CG – Curtis Granderson scampers home after the attempt to catch him stealing third sails into left field.

#DG – Dee Gordon steals 2nd, 3rd and home in the 7th inning on July 1, 2011 – the first Dodger to do so since 1928.

#DJ – Derek Jeter steals his 327th base to pass Rickey Henderson as the Yankees all-time leader (he did this on the road, not in Yankee pinstripes as shown on the card).

#DP – Dustin Pedroia stole 2nd and 3rd in May, 2011 as part of a 4-steal frame for the Red Sox.

#EA – Elvis Andrus steals home on the back-end of a Josh Hamilton theft of 2nd base in June 2011.

#IK – Ian Kinsler steals his 28th straight base without getting caught.

#JE – Jacoby Ellsbury swipes his record 55th stolen base of the 2009 season, setting a Boston record.

#JR – Jose Reyes breaks the Mets career record with his 282nd career stolen base in September 2009 (they didn’t even put him in the right uniform for this).  Topps got it wrong, but Reyes didn’t – he stole 3rd a few pitches later.

#JRO – Jimmy Rollins got such a good jump on his 350th career steal in May that he didn’t need to slide.

#JW – Jemile Weeks stole 22 bases in his rookie season – which didn’t start until June.  He got such a good jump on his first steal that the catcher didn’t even get a throw off toward third.

#MK – Matt Kemp stole base number 40 on September 17th of last year.

#NM – Nyjer Morgan led off a September game against Houston reaching base on an error, then stole 2nd, moved to 3rd on a wild pitch.  He later scored on a ground out – a run without a positive batting play.

#RB – Ryan Braun steals his 30th base of the year on the way to a 30-30 season in his 2011 MVP campaign.

#SC – Starlin Castro steals 2nd and 3rd when entering the 2011 All-Star game as a pinch runner.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

