2012 Heritage vs. Vintage #20 – Final post

11 04 2012

Today is my last post of this whole comparison / contest between 1963 Topps and 2012 Heritage.  Hard to believe, but it’s been a full 3 weeks of doing this!  It’s been fun, and I had about over a week of travel time during this, so it’s been a bit of work to get these up and running at the right times.  A bunch of scanning cards and loading them up to write-up the posts at a later time.  I was surprised at how well this year’s Heritage did in comparison, but I held off on posting about the cards that I picked based on them being stud 1963 players until these last few posts.  Because of that, I think 1963 will win my completely arbitrary contest, but let’s take a look!

Card #252 – Aramis Ramirez / Ron Santo

This is another one of those examples where Topps got the player onto their new team, but picked a card number based on who they played for last year.  I wish they’d do this differently.  My first choice is actually that they’d just use a picture of the player in his old uniform – so in this case, show Ramirez as a Cub.  Or, if they’re going to photo shop guys into the most recent uniform, change the card number to get the comparison right.  It’s one of the cool things they do for Heritage, so looking at this makes it kind of disappointing.

Winner

Hard to go with anyone but Santo here.  There’s the whole Brewers player with a cub here, plus, this just reminds me that the Brewers getting Aramis might help them keep the Reds out of the playoffs again.  Finally, the Santo card is just a better card.  I’m a sucker for cards with guys holding two bats!

1963 Topps leads, 40-39

For the first time I can remember, 1963 Topps gets the lead.

**********

Card #345 – Mark Reynolds / Brooks Robinson

I don’t know why, but I do like the Reynolds card.  I know he strikes out a lot, and I know comparing him with Brooks Robinson is basically comparing the greatest defensive 3rd baseman ever with a guy who really isn’t a good defensive 3rd baseman.  But he is the right comparison as he’s the O’s 3rd baseman.

Winner

I don’t love the Brooks card either, but I like him much better.  Brooks was one of the first players I ever got an autograph of, back when I was really young.  I have his auto on a ball with orange and black Oriole seems.  I’m pretty sure I got it in Baltimore with my grandfather, who lived there.  I’d like to have the option of a tie available going into the last card, but I’ve got to give the win to Mr. Robinson!

1963 Topps leads, 41-39

**********

Card #250 – Jon Jay / Stan Musial

This is the last card of this whole shindig.  I saved Musial for last for good reason.  Most importantly, this is “Stan the Man’s” last Topps card of his incredible career.  A career that included 475 home runs, 1950 RBI and the National League hit record at the time of his retirement.  He spent a year in the military, too – so if he hadn’t had to serve a year for WWII, he’d probably have over 500 homers, over 2,000 runs and RBI, and over 3,800 hits, which would have put him only behind Cobb and, eventually, Rose.

Winner

Not a comparison here.  Maybe when Pujols was with the Cardinals.  He could have been a potential comparison there.  But the Man’s last card, which is a perfectly done card for the last of his career, is pretty much unbeatable. It’s also a great way to end these comparison posts of mine!

**********

I hope you’ve enjoyed it – this has certainly given me some appreciation for 1963 Topps, a set I knew very little about.  It’s also given me a lot of appreciation for this year’s Heritage set.  Topps did a really good job overall with the set!

Once again, after comparing approximately 170 different cards, 1963 Topps beat out Heritage by a score of 42-39.  As Marty Brennaman says, “This one belongs to 1963 Topps!”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

