2012 Heritage vs. Vintage #19 – More Great Players from “Then”

10 04 2012

Starting off with my second to last post of these comparisons, let’s go with two Tigers.

Card #25 – Delmon Young / Al Kaline

Here’s one comparison that, after looking at the two cards side by side, it’s clearly going to go the way I would expect considering the fact that I picked this round of cards based on the 1963 Topps player.

Winner

I’ve got nothing against Delmon Young, or this card for that matter.  The coolest thing about his card is that he reminds me that he’s Dmitri’s younger brother – the resemblance is apparent.

But I’m going with Kaline.  He’s got 3,007 hits, 399 home runs, and this is a nice card.

2012 Heritage leads, 39-36

**********

Card #300 – Delmon Young / Willie Mays

After Kaline won an easy one above, this one is a walk-away winner as well.

Winner

Again, it’s nothing against the Heritage card.  Well, at least not too much.  I kind of like the picture of Beltran – it’s a close up of him running in from the outfield after the third out.  But, it’s also a Cardinals card compared with a Giants card – which made me think “huh – Beltran is with the Cardinals, now – I get that – but why compare him to Giants”?

Then I remembered, oh yeah!  He was traded briefly to the Giants for their playoff run that didn’t run to the playoffs.  So they end up with a Cardinals card on a Giants card number – that’s another knock against Heritage.

Regardless, it would be hard to beat this Mays card.  I’m a fan of Mr. Mays, and I particularly like this card.  It’s just a photo that stands out in a way, and it’s Willie freaking Mays!  I’d love to pull the certified autograph card of him!

2012 Heritage leads, 39-37

*********

Card #115 – Jacoby Ellsbury / Carl Yastrzemski

Starting the last post off, I’ll go with a couple of Red Sox stars.  This is a good comparison.  In 1963, Yaz was a young budding star, only a few years removed from his first season.  As is Ellsbury.

At first glance, I don’t love either of these cards.  There’s nothing special with either photo.  I particularly don’t like the chain link fence in the background for some of the Red Sox Heritage cards.

Winner

On second glance, I do appreciate the Yaz card a bit more.  It’s a young photo of the guy I think of as having the Yaz from the 1982 or 1983 Topps cards.  And there’s some Boston players (or coaches?) in the background, so it’s fun to wonder what they’ve got going on.  Giving the win to Yaz and ’63 Topps here.

2012 Heritage leads, 39-38

*********

Card #360 – Chad Billingsley / Don Drysdale

I’m not going to beat around the bush here.  The Dodgers have one great pitcher, and Chad Billingsley used to be a pretty good pitcher for them, but it’s been about 3 years since he was much better than an average 3rd starter.

Winner

Back at the time of 1963 Topps, the Dodgers had two great pitchers.  Don Drysdale was coming off a Cy Young award.  Because of this, I wish they’d matched Kershaw up with Drysdale instead of Koufax.  Either way, though, Drysdale is a better pitcher with a better card here.

Tied, 39-39

*********

This ties it up for 1963 Topps, and that set seems to have all the momentum – a clean 4-0 sweep for today’s posts.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

