Completed insert set – 2011 Topps 60th Anniversary Black Diamond

4 03 2012

Yesterday, I posted about the wrapper redemption from this year – today I’m showing off my completed wrapper redemption from last year!

The 2011 60th Anniversary Black Diamond set was available through a wrapper redemption program from series 1.  The set contains current players and features the classic 1952 design with a black “diamond effect” similar to what Topps did for the Diamond Anniversary parallels or Diamond Stars insert sets.

Info about the set:

Set description:  60 of today’s players on the classic 1952 Topps design, enhanced with the diamond effect.  The set was available through a series 1 hobby wrapper redemption program.  By sending in 10 HTA jumbo or 36 hobby packs (one box worth), collectors would get a 5 card pack of the cards.  Randomly inserted were black diamond reprints of cards from the 1952 set autographed by those players.  Players in the autograph set include Monte Irvin, Joe Garagiola, Virgil Trucks and Ralph Branca.

Set composition:  60 cards, 5 per wrapper redemption pack (2011 Topps series 1)

Hall of Famers: None – only current players.

How I put the set together:

I bought a complete set on eBay.  I did get 10 cards in the mail – but I found a cheaper deal on the full set than it would have been to collect the remaining 50 cards.

Thoughts on the set:  I know that Topps has beat together the retro theme, and particularly the 1952 set, but this set it gorgeous.  I love it.

Card that completed my set:  All of them – as noted, I bought the whole set on eBay.

Highest book value:  #54 – Derek Jeter

Best card (my opinion):  #52 – Martin Prado

I love this photo, with the jersey logo next to the logo to the left above the signature at the bottom of the card.

My Favorite Reds card:  #6 – Joey Votto

The other card is Aroldis Chapman – Votto just has a better picture.

Actions

Information

6 responses

4 03 2012
Gregory Zakwin

Awesome, congrats!

4 03 2012
kev

do you have an extra wright, by any chance? also, how much did you pay? (I’m not sure if that’s ok to ask – if not, i apologize!) it is a beautiful set, and as i’ve commented before – i LOVE following this project!

6 03 2012
chuckneo

Haha – Kevin – just realized you’d asked how much I paid. That makes more sense…

I paid 35 bucks plus I think 4 for shipping. I thought that was a pretty good deal – I actually lost a bid when it went over 25 bucks for a lot of ~35 of the 60 cards (and I had a couple of the lot already – so it really would have been like 31 new ones and 4 doubles).

4 03 2012
chuckneo

Kevin – no problem asking – I do owe you some cards at some point!

Unfortunately – Wright isn’t in the other 10 I got through the mail that are now dupes (neither is the Reyes).

4 03 2012
kev

that’s ok – i figured i would take a shot… i only had a 1-in-6 chance!

6 03 2012
MIlwaukee Southpaw

Very nice!

Leave a Reply

