Completed insert set – 2011 Topps Heritage Baseball Flashbacks

29 12 2011

This is another one of those “standard” insert sets in 2011 Topps Heritage.  Like the set I covered yesterday – this one is a “flashbacks” insert set.  Unlike the News Flashbacks set, this one honors baseball news in 1962.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Info about the set

Set description:  “10 memorable baseball highlights from 1962.”  The front shows a player with the 1962 wood-grain border and headlines an accomplishment he made in 1962.  The back describes the accomplishment in more detail.

Set composition:  10 cards, 1:12 odds (2011 Topps Heritage)

Hall of Famers: 9.  Only Roger Maris isn’t in the Hall out of this group.

How I put the set together:

  • 2 cards from the hobby box
  • 3 cards from trades
  • 4 cards from Sportlots
  • 1 cards from either Check Out My Cards

Card that completed my set: #BF6 – Whitey Ford

2011 Topps Heritage BB Flashbacks Whitey Ford

This was from my Sportlots purchase in early December.

Thoughts on the set:  Like the News Flashbacks, this is a cool set.  I guess there weren’t a ton of big time accomplishments in 1962.  They included Mickey Mantle’s 400th home run, but the other 9 are just good games that certain players had.  Here are some of the things I think they missed – and I’m excluding the 3 baseball moments they had in the News set (which I’d have put here):

  • The Houston’s Colt 45’s had their first season as a franchise
  • Bo Belinsky of the Angels and Sandy Koufax threw the first 2 no-hitters in Dodger Stadium
  • JFK was the first president to throw out the first pitch of an All-Star game (it was held in DC)
  • Hank and Tommie Aaron both hit home runs in the same inning.
  • Tom Cheney struck out 21 batters in an extra-inning game – still a record
  • And the biggest oversight – Maury Wills became the first player with 100 stolen bases in a season, taking the NL MVP award
  • Whitey Ford (who is in the set) broke Babe Ruth’s scoreless innings mark for a World Series

Best card (my opinion): #BF6 – Whitey Ford

2011 Topps Heritage BB Flashbacks Whitey Ford

I almost went with Mantle, because it’s the only card that represents a true milestone.  However, I have a soft spot in my baseball card heart for the 1962 Topps card of Whitey Ford.  You see, my dad and I went to a sports show a long time ago, and Whitey Ford was signing autographs.  I got him to sign a somewhat beat up version of his 1962 Topps card.  It’s just about my favorite card in my collection.  So to have him on a card that is based on the 1962 Topps design?  That’s my winner!

**************

Actions

Information

One response

11 03 2016
Completed master set – one last look at 2011 Topps Heritage | Lifetime Topps project

[…] sets:  News Flashbacks, Baseball Flashbacks, Then & Now, New Age Performers, Jackie Robinson […]

Leave a Reply

