2011 Heritage box break & 1962 comparison

24 04 2011

Continuing my overview of this year’s Topps Heritage and the 1962 Topps set – here is the break of my Heritage hobby box. I busted my hobby box of Heritage a little while ago already posted on it, so a little of this is duplicative.  But, I want to post on this set in a way that copies what I’m doing with the Topps base sets while at the same time being able to compare it to the 1962 set.  So here’s a little more specifics on the box break.

I said this before, but I love this set.  I’ve never collected a Topps set other than the base, but this was a perfect set to get me into something else from MLB’s exclusive licensee.  The 1962 set is one of the company’s most notable, and one I particularly liked.  1987 was the first year I collected cards, so I’m familiar with the wood-grain border.  And the first item I ever got autographed was a Whitey Ford 1962 Topps card.

I did OK with this box.  I didn’t get any real rare hits, but I did get a stamp card (which basically comes 1 in 9 boxes) and got a 50th anniversary buyback of a Reds player (I had a 50/50 chance of getting one of these or not).  I think I may collect Reds only for some of the rarer insert sets – so this is a keeper!  I got a Ubaldo Jimenez Topps Bucks box topper, and pulled a Don Mattingly chrome card.  I traded both of these away to help with some of my set collections.  The relic I got was a Josh Johnson clubhouse collection – so that’s about as weak as I could get for my 1 “hit” (relic or auto).  The stamp was a good pull, so, like I said, the box was decent for a Topps Heritage 2011 box.

Given the fact that I love this set – decent for this box was really great in my eyes.  I also got an Aroldis Chapman “rookie” base card – so that helped as well.  Below are the “stats” for the box.

24 packs per box * 9 cards per pack + 3 checklists – 1 card for the pack with relic = 218 cards

196 of the 425 card base set (46.1% set completion)

8 SP cards

204 of the 500 card full set (40.8% set completion)

2 Baseball Flashbacks, 2 News Flashbacks, 2 New Age Performers, 1 Then & Now, 3 checklists

2 Chrome (Mattingly / Ellsbury)

1 Framed Stamp (Shields/Billingsley)

1 Clubhouse Collection Relic (Josh Johnson)

Box Toppers – 1 Baseball Bucks (Jimenez), 1 50th Anniversary Buyback (Joe Gaines)

Now, if you wanted to collect the 1962 Topps set at the time of release – there would be 7 series of packs/boxes to purchase throughout the year.  Wax packs came 5 cards per pack and 24 packs per box.  Every series was under 120 cards, so hopefully if you bought 7 boxes back in 1962, you’d have something close to a full set.  You’d also get 1 panel of 2 stamps per pack.  There were 201 different stamps, and each stamp was shown on two different panels (one on the left, one on the right) so you’d probably have almost every stamp if you bought 7 boxes.  But you’d still have 33 panels to go if you got no doubles.

If you had to pick a series, the first or last series might be the best.  Here’s a quick breakdown of what’s in each series:

  • Series One (1 – 109) – Maris (card #1), Koufax, Clemente, Mays/Mantle (Mgr Dream), Musial, Banks, Maris/Mantle/Killebrew LL
  • Series Two (110-196) – Babe Ruth subset, Green tint variations, Kaline
  • Series Three #197-283 – G. Perry RC, Mantle
  • Series Four #284-370 – Mays, Maris IA, Mantle IA, Aaron, Berra
  • Series Five #371-446 – Brock RC, Yaz
  • Series Six #447-522 – Mantle AS,
  • Series Seven #523-598 – B. Gibson SP, McCovey SP, Rookie Parade and other SP’s

These days, coming across an unopened pack is a rare find – there were a couple of auctions on eBay where these went for $150 (No clue what series this is).  Graded cello packs could cost you well over $1,000.  Just a wrapper itself would cost you ~30 bucks.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

