New Reds posting(s) – 1990 World Series

3 01 2011

The Big Red Machine cards are beginning to wind down – I think after 1986 (in which Pete Rose will have a manager card, a base card, and a bunch of tribute cards), the number will be dwindle to totals I can count on my hand (I believe Sparky will be the last member with a card, and Griffey Sr’s 91 Topps being the last player card).

My new “Reds” post that I’ll do for each set will be members from the 1990 Cincinnati Reds Playoff roster, including manager Lou Piniella. I thought about doing coaches – but passed on it – Tony Perez as hitting coach would be the most notable, and he gets covered by my Big Red Machine posting.  By playoff roster, I’m only going to include players who played in either the NLCS or World Series (Jack Armstrong is the only player who made an appearance in one but not the other – he didn’t pitch in the NLCS). This task is a bit more daunting, because it’s 25 players and a manager who retired just 4 months ago. My next post will be a  catchup post to get me through 1985 Topps. For now, here are the 26 members:

1990 Reds – Postseason

Mgr – Lou Piniella

C – Joe Oliver, Jeff Reed

1B – Todd Benzinger, Hal Morris

2B – Mariano Duncan, Ron Oester, Bill Doran

SS – Barry Larkin

3B – Chris Sabo

OF – Billy Hatcher, Eric Davis, Paul O’Neill, Glenn Braggs, Herm Winningham

SP – Jose Rijo, Tom Browning, Danny Jackson

RP – Norm Charlton, Rob Dibble, Randy Myers, Scott Scudder, Rick Mahler, Jack Armstrong

PH/PR – Luis Quinones, Billy Bates




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: