The best Topps card of the 1980’s

1 02 2013

Here’s the next 4 cards in the countdown of the top cards in the decade.  As a reminder, this is my opinion on the best card from the 80’s.  Not just the best photo, the best card design, the best player or the most notable card.  Really, I consider all of those factors and make a personal list, made up of the cards I think are the best.

1) 1980 Topps #482 – Rickey Henderson

1980 Henderson Ryan Ozzie

  • Rookie card of my favorite player not named Ken Griffey Jr.
  • Who’s also one of the best players to lace ‘em up.  In my lifetime, I think he’s probably the third best batter – behind Bonds and A-Rod, just ahead of Ripken and Griffey, and with a TBD for Pujols.
  • 1980 Topps – one of my favorite card designs.
  • Great picture – Rickey’s notable, low-to-the-ground batting stance.
  • Facsimile signature that is placed perfectly and goes really well with the card and photo.
  • Old school Oakland uniform.

There’s a lot to love about this card.  This card is really why I started this blog – doing the lifetime Topps thing meant I could start with this set, which seemed untouchable when I was a kid with a 5 or 10-dollar allowance.

Also, not in my list above may be the most important factor – the year it was released.  In 1980, which was also the year I was born, there was only one game in town.  And that would be Topps.  So if you wanted to get a card of your favorite player, there was only one place to find it.  Want a rookie card of Tony Gwynn?  Wade Boggs?  There are 3 to choose from.  What about Cal Ripken?  Three as well, and the card everybody wanted was the Topps Traded that isn’t technically a rookie card.  Griffey?  There are actually 7 of his.  And if you go past the 1980’s, it gets down right ridiculous.  But there’s just one Rickey, and it’s the best card of the decade to me.

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 02 2013
hiflew

I like your top 5 batters with one exception. I don’t Ripken belongs with those guys. I would put any of George Brett, Tony Gwynn, Wade Boggs, Albert Pujols, or Ichiro ahead of Ripken (and maybe Jeter also). Ripken was a great player and could fit in the top 15 batters (which isn’t really an insult), but the streak has caused him to be supremely overrated.

1 02 2013
chuckneo

“Batter” may be the wrong term – I really meant “position player”. In that – I wasn’t just thinking about how good of hitters they were, but how valuable they were, factoring out pitchers.

Is Ripken overrated because of the streak? Yes, certainly (though I don’t think by that much). But I think he’s definitely a better overall player than Gwynn, and I would argue Boggs, too – but it’s pretty close. The guy won 2 MVP’s – both of them deserving – and really transformed the position of SS.

I guess I wasn’t really factoring in Brett, Yount, or Schmidt. Too much of their career came before my lifetime, and my memory of them is more of when they were chasing 3,000 hits.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

