Saturdays Suds: Baseball & Beer #16 – Ommegang Rare Vos

10 11 2012

Now that baseball season is over, I guess I could stop doing these Saturday Suds – which is where I look at a beer that has something to do with baseball (no matter how far-fetched).  But I think I’ll just keep doing them until I run out of ideas.  This particular idea is going to last me about 7 posts or so – beers from the Ommegang Brewery.  The first one is Ommegang Rare Vos.

Brewery:  Ommegang Brewery, Cooperstown, NY

(Now owned by the Duvel Belgian Brewery, though still operated out of Cooperstown)

Beer:  Ommegang Rare Vos

Description:  Per the bottle – “Rare Vos is Flemish for “Sly Fox”, and the name of one of Brussels’ great cafes.  It is also the name of our cunning Belgian-style Amber, which sports a mellow, fruity character and an elusive spiciness.”

This beer is actually kind of light (in color and body) for an amber beer.  It’s good! It has some taste too it (a little spice), but is still very easy to drink.

Medium:  A large bottle (1 pint, 9.4 oz).  The bottle comes in a cork.  These are sold in the beer/liquor store close to me, and this was the first one I picked up.  I’d tried it a long time ago when I went to Cooperstown. You can also buy the standard 12 ounce bottles.

How it’s related to baseball:  The beer itself isn’t really related at all.  The Ommegang Brewery is a Belgian-style brewery that has been around for 25 years.  But the bottom line?  It’s in Cooperstown – home of the baseball Hall of Fame.  I recently went to Cooperstown with my dad, and we didn’t stop here, but I’d had a couple of these beers when I went to Cooperstown for Rickey Henderson’s induction.  The brewing tradition in Cooperstown actually goes back much further than the baseball tradition does – so I’ll feature a few more of these (and one other brewery) over the coming weeks!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

